Thoughts as I work through some studies

I've been cracking away at studying for the OSCP certification. It's taken quite  a bit of my time, but I want to accomplish it. I've also been sitting on the eLearn Security eCPPT course. It's good content, but I'm more motivated to obtain my OSCP, because it has a name behind it.

Something that I noticed as I've been studying though, is that my desire to try to absorb everything has somewhat hindered my studies and reading. I'm spending so much time trying to read and reread the content that I am not progressing as much as I should.

When I was going through school, I was under a time crunch, so I just read, studied and retained what I could as I went through each lesson. Maybe this means that I need to focus more on pushing myself through the material and learning what I can, getting the fundamentals and just letting myself build from there. I will learn more in the long run, and I have to realize that I am not going to retain everything, especially not just by reading through it.

Maybe the trick is to just study, view the video material, lab and do the best that I can. The deeper knowledge will come with time and practice. Seems like that may be the best way to go.

Time to study.