Relaxing for a bit, and learning at my pace

I recently decided to take a bit of a break from work. I was overdoing it and burning out. It's working out for the best so far, and I'm feeling great. I slowed down and started learning at my own pace. Instead of forcing myself to cram new information every day, I'm just taking some time to be me and read when I feel like it.

It's a good feeling.

Truth be told, I've lost interest in OSCP, and I don't know if I will gain that back in the near future. The process is kind of the same each time you spin up a new box: You start it up, you run portscans, you enum directories on web servers, you run your trusted toolset, find something Google for a few hours, find something else, Google again, get foothold, Google, and do it all over again until you get root.

Port Swigger Academy has been much more interesting lately, as has Code Academy. In fact, the only time I've used Hack the Box lately was to do machines with solutions I already knew and rather than focus on learning or finding the solution, focus on building an exploit in Python. Actually, not as easy as I'd imagined, but a good learning experience, and I'm feeling there's a bit more value in that for me right now. I'm having to learn Python's request libraries, how to upload files using Python, etc.

It's not a fast process, but I told myself I'd take it a bit easier for a while.