Knowing what you don't know

This career can be intimidating. Almost daily, I look at all the things I don't know and think to myself, "Crap, man. This is still a mystery to me." As I work with people who are in the same field, many of them who seem to have it all together, I'm constantly reminded that they all feel the same way about their own skills.

That's why I am just going to list a few of the things that I still feel completely clueless about.

Containers

These are still mysterious magic boxes to me. I look at these and just ask myself: "Containers! How do they work!?" I've read a bit here and there, and have some surface level understanding, but nothing solid or even what I'd call comfortable or working knowledge. It's one of those things I intend to learn more about someday, but there are plenty of other subjects I have to pick up knowledge of first.

Compiled languages

Another one of those things I only have the textbook definition understanding of, and that's about as deep as it goes. It's one of those things I haven't had the opportunity to dive into yet, and sometimes wonder if I ever will. I think it's good to at least be able to understand a little bit, so at least I know what's going on. This also somewhat affects my understanding of what's going on when I look at tools like gcc, which is used somewhat often in HTB labs.

MSFVenom

I understand this one much better than I do the previous two, and I can use it so long as I have a cheat sheet or reference, but it never feels like I intuitively know what to do. I always have to kind of search through some posts and refresh my memory on the switches and what I'm doing. I know there's not a lot to it, but I don't consider myself even partially knowledgeable about something until I use it regularly without having to look at guides for basic functionality.

Web App Testing

This is another one I've been learning about more recently. It's slowly starting to make much more sense, but I want to have a deeper understanding of it, and that's what I'm working on right now next to my OSCP certification. I'm hoping that the knowledge I gain from one goes hand-in-hand with the other as I try to improve my abilities.